Saturday, June 13, 2009

In My Mailbox

Another busy week. Special thanks to all the bloggers who promoted our Color Online Summer Book Drive. We're almost at the mid-way mark. I won't list everything we get in but we are trying to record donations for our records, keeping notes on addresses when we get them. We really do want donors to know your gifts are a very big deal to us. Without you, we could not build the collection we have. So on to the mail. In My mailbox is hosted each week by Kristi at The Story Siren and Marcia hosts Mailbox Monday. The following is a short list of donations:
Amor and Summer Secrets by Diana Rodriguez Wallach
Synopsis:
"In the first novel of a sparkling new series that's reminiscent of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants books, Wallach introduces an unforgettable heroine who's learning all about friendship, family, rivalry, and secrets. "
The author sent us a copy of each book in the series and signed them!
by Aaron McGruder
From publishers review:
The Boondocks has taken the syndication world by storm. Introduced in April 1999, the edgy new comic strip produced a stronger launch for Universal Press Syndicate than Calvin and Hobbes and For Better or For Worse... In fact, the notoriety landed Boondocks creator Aaron McGruder in publications ranging from Time magazine to People magazine which named him one of the "25 Most Intriguing People of '99." Centered around the experiences of two young African-American boys, Huey and Riley, who move from inner-city Chicago to the suburbs (or the "boondocks" to them), the strip fuses hip-hop sensibilities with Japanese anime-style drawings and a candid discussion of race...
Our first copy walked. When my assistant saw this donation she said the girls loved these. We're hoping this was lasts longer than the last.

Luna by Julie Ann Peters.
Synopsis
"From as early as she can remember, Regan O'Neill has known that her brother, Liam, was different. That he was, in fact, a girl. Transgender. Having a transgender brother has never been a problem for Regan until now. Liam (or Luna, as she prefers to be called by her chosen name) is about to transition. What does it mean, transitioning? Dressing like a girl? In public? Does Liam expect Regan to embrace this decision, to welcome his sex change? She's always kept her brother's secret, always been his confidante, but now Regan's acceptance and love will be put to the test. "
Got this on trade. Love this. Great writing and an issue more teens are facing now rather than in their later years. Highly recommend this.

The Color of Earth by Kim Dong Hwa
Synopsis
"In the tradition of My Antonia and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, from the pen of the renowned Korean manwha creator Kim Dong Hwa, comes a trilogy about a girl coming of age, set in the vibrant, beautiful landscape of pastoral Korea. "

This manhwa — first in a trilogy — chronicling the lives of a single mother and her daughter in rural Korea is a moving and evocative look at love as seen through the eyes of one feeling it for the first time and another who longs to savor it once more. The story follows daughter Ehwa from age seven up as she discovers the physical differences between boys and girls, grows into young womanhood and undergoes her initial confusing experiences with attraction and romance.
Saw an early review somewhere. Knew I wanted this graphic novel for our library. The book's cover and the paper are pieces of art in themselves. A generous donor sent us the first three volumes.

Flipping the Script by Paula Chase.
Synopsis:
"It's junior year at Del Rio Bay High, and Mina's feeling insecure while her boyfriend Brian is at Duke University. Meanwhile, Rob's presence around the clique triggers star athlete JZ's feelings of homophobia. "
Paula sent us a signed copy of the second title in the Del Rio series as well as Don't Get It Twisted, a popular title in our library.

22 comments:

Summer said...

Yay fun week! I sent off my books today so hopefully you get them in the upcoming week and find them useful!

rhapsodyinbooks said...

Color of Earth sounds good! I don't have any brothers, and have no recollection of when and/or how I figured out boys were different. I would be interested in reading it just for that if nothing else! :--)

Doret said...

Happy to see the book drive is going so well. Thanks for sharing a few of the books.

susan said...

Rhapsody, my brother is eight years younger and definitely part of the hip-hop culture (he's at the top of age range). Real hip hop as I've come to understand it is political, dynamic, a cultural movement. A lot of kids respond to the humor, but the astute reader recognizes the satire and informed perspective. His writing does what good writing does: reflect back to us who we really are.

Did I just write a review? lol

susan said...

Doret, I'll be sharing more tomorrow at Color Online.

Thanks, Summer.

Rebecca said...

Great books you got this week, they all sound really good. Enjoy.

Eva said...

That Korean book sounds sooo interesting! My library doesn't have it though. :( I'm glad you're getting donations in!

ZAC said...

I think you'll LOVE Luna. It is heartbreakingly lovely.

The Book Resort said...

Great news about the drive. Can't wait until my book arrives. I'm also tossing in a copy of Whoopi's Sugar Plum Ballerinas #1: Plum Fantastic :}.

You'll get them this week.

susan said...

Hi Zac,
I've read Luna, and I did love it. That's why I put it on our wish list. :-)

susan said...

Thank you, Book resort. I'll definitely comment when they arrive.

ZAC said...

Lol, I didn't read that paragraph since I thought it was just the synopsis! Who0ps =)

Where is your bump in the night job? I work at Scores NYC.

susan said...

I work for the county. Nothing exotic like your place of business, though in my 20s, I knew a few dancers. We worked out at the same gym. At that time I waited tables in upscale places. I've spent half my adult working life working odd hours.

Callie said...

That is great about the Summer Book Drive. Happy reading!

Lenore said...

Glad your book drive is going so well.

Jacqueline C said...

I love The Boondocks! Here's what I got

Cat said...

I think I might have to read LUNA at some point. I know it's a real-life kind of book (haha) but it's an interesting subject and one that means a lot.

Once in a while I do take my head out of the clouds and see what the real world is all about. I don't always like it, which is why I am happier in the clouds! ;)

Shalonda said...

I'm glad to see the book drive is going well. My donation will be on its way soon!

Lauren said...

The cover for Luna is really pretty.

The Story Siren said...

great book week! lots of titles that i know of and still need to read! and a few that are new to me! glad things are going well with the book drive! i still need to send mine in! happy reading

Kristen said...

You got some great books!

Wendi B. - Wendi's Book Corner ~ Rainy Day Reads in Seattle said...

Amor and Summer Secrets looks and sounds cute! Can't wait to learn more about the new series. :)

Here's my Mailbox! ~ Wendi